Inside my head: Random Thoughts 3

-Is Muslim unity, like Black unity (or Arab unity or African unity etc.), an ideal rather than a reality? How many lectures, kutbahs, discussions, or brainstorming sessions have I attended where someone suggests the solution to the problems facing Muslims is to realize that we are one Ummah. That our ethnic, racial, cultural, and national backgrounds do not matter. The same can be said for our different interpretations, schools of thought, gender and socioeconomic backgrounds. Believe me, I would like if none of the aforementioned weren’t the cause of division in the Muslim community. I just wonder if that is really going to happen. Even during the time of the Prophet (s.a.w.) there was racism, tribalism, sexism etc. Yes, our dear Prophet (s.a.w.) was vehemently opposed to division along those lines but history tells us as soon as he died the old tensions were revived. The other thing is this: I don’t want people to pretend that ethnicity, cultural background, nationality aren’t important meanwhile Muslims are subliminally encouraged to adopt Arab [Saudi] cultural practices as the universal norm.

-I NEED to go to Jumah. It hasn’t been that long since I’ve been there but my soul is crying for it. Insha’allah, I will take off this Friday or next Friday.

-I bought two hijabs from Al Muhajabat and I’m so happy, alhamdulillah. I’ve been looking for Turkish satin hijabs for the longest time but I wanted the price to be reasonable. Now I found them. Thank you Al Muhajabat!

-My mom and I went to see “The Secret Life of Bees” on Saturday afternoon. I enjoyed the movie (though I did have a few issues with it.) One of the things I kept thinking about is the old school African-American [southern] values and how far we’ve gotten away from them. I miss the warmth, the kindness, the sense of community and the love ethic. I can say the same for Jamaican culture. Sometimes I want to cry when I think about where we were before and where we are now…

I’m trying to support National Pink Hijab Day but  I have an interview tomorrow, insha’allah, and pink isn’t part of the outfit I have planned. Hmm…what’s a girl to do?

-I want to do something crazy. Something out of the norm for me. I don’t have any ideas about what that thing will be but I’m tired of the same ole, same ole. I need some adventure in my life…

-For the longest time I have been thinking about writing a memoir. What I’m struggling with is whether or not I want to reveal details about my life that only certain people know. I’m thinking about the things Allah has covered for me and if I really should unveil them (no pun intended.) At the same time, I don’t want to do the “typical Muslim thing” and behave like I’m perfect. If I write a memoir I want people (especially converts and especially youth) to see that it’s possible to rise above your circumstances and commit yourself to God.  More importantly, I want to discuss the period I went through when I wasn’t practicing Islam even though I was Muslim. The way I see it, there are a lot of non-practicing Muslims out there who really want to commit themselves to this deen but they don’t know how they’re going to do it. (I certainly have some insight into that). So, what’s more important here? My intention behind the memoir or keeping my former sins covered? I don’t know…

6 responses to “Inside my head: Random Thoughts 3

  1. Aaminah Hernandez

    Asalaamu alaikum.

    I think you have hit on something that really needs to be further explored: Unity is NOT about acting like we have no differences. Unity doesn’t have to mean that we become one homogenous group; like you say it tends to mean that we all become Arabs. We are never going to all agree on everything; can’t we just be satisfied with the fact that we agree on La ilaha illAllah, Muhammadur RasulAllah??? But also, yes, it is ridiculous to act like ethnic, cultural and class backgrounds don’t matter. They do matter. They are part of who we are, and we can’t just “ignore” them. Becoming Muslim does not make you less Jamerican, or me less Amerindian, or someone else less whatever they are. We don’t have to give up who we are to be Muslim. Islam exists in diversity. Unity is about respecting that diversity, not denying it. Because it’s always about a bunch of us being forced to deny who we are for the sake of unity, while others go on just like they always have. We can’t deny who we are, and Islam does not require that.

  2. For your interview just tell them your wearing a pink hijab because it’s Breast Cancer Awareness, it might reflect your community involvement, besides there’s “beauty in colour” (lol). GOOD Luck on the interview

    I hear you, it’s so hard to open yourself up to the world. A friend once told me that “there is a power in honesty, and we lose it when we hide, that showing our vulnerability is the segue to that power.”
    Regardless of what you decide, in the end it will give you integrity and strenght in yourselve.

  3. I’ll take one of your rnadom thoughts- Muslim Unity- I think if we ever get to surpass the above stated dividing factors among Muslims the one that will be the hardest is the born vs the Convert Muslim.
    It is pretty discouraging to be in the Mosque and someone- first asks if you are Muslim and then asks if you are a convert.

    When do you stop being a convert in people’s eyes- because you are just a Muslim to Allah (I suppose)…
    When does your “conversion” story become stale or irrelevant because you may not see things as you once did or are just the same person you once were?
    Unity would entail there is no dividing line or marker…

  4. “Unity is about respecting that diversity, not denying it. Because it’s always about a bunch of us being forced to deny who we are for the sake of unity, while others go on just like they always have. We can’t deny who we are, and Islam does not require that.”

    Golden, mashallah, simply golden. I couldn’t have said it better myself.

  5. Salaam
    You could write a memoir and change names,
    etc. You just have to be sure you are ready
    to deal with people’s opinions. I myself am
    a very “tell it like it is” muslimah. I can’t
    get with that “I am going to be phony so
    everyone will think I’m perfect” thing at all,
    it’s lame. If you feel it’s necessary to talk
    about it, go for it, you may give some of us
    hope :).

  6. With the memoir just change the names.

    Muslim unity does not equal “melting into one culture” also remember, Allah(swt) said he made us “different” so we can “learn” from one another. Allah(swt) created “different languages” so that the sign he never intended for us to “be one culture” but we can still be united.

    Another thing is what Allah(swt) has covered, we should leave it as that. However, to tell a story for the sake of teaching others. It’s best to change the name of the characters involved. It will still serve the same purpose.

Leave a Reply

