My Assignment

I’ve been thinking, reflecting and reading my old diary lately.  I realize Islamically I am not pushing myself as much as I used to.  I need to increase my “spiritual calories”, my ibadah.   My hot mouth and I have been burning up the blog with [valid] complaints about the Muslim community. Lately, I’ve been so focused on “issues.”   Meanwhile, I’ve been neglecting some of the spiritual practices that have kept me balanced- centered.  I feel like I am losing my spiritual self. I don’t want that to happen ever again. (May Allah prevent it. Ameen.)

The bottom line is I need to make sure that I don’t lose myself in the midst of all the fitnah. It’s so easy to become disillusioned. I have to take care of my spiritual self as much as I take care of my intellectual self. It all goes hand in hand.  Here is what I am going to do, insha’allah:

  1. Learn a new Surah
  2. Increase Nafl Salaah
  3. Keep plugging away at the Seerah I’m reading
  4. Keep thinking, reviewing, reflecting, and making du’a
  5. Pay back the last day of Ramadan that I owe
9 responses to “My Assignment

  1. Assalaamualaikum-
    Alhamdulilah, self reflection is always good. I’m in the same place right now. I’m reading Qur’an more and just trying to actively get my mind to go where it needs to go-to process things in the manner that I believe is spiritually best. It’s difficult (yet highly important) work. I wish you the best Sis!

  2. Samira,

    Walaikum salaam rahmatuallah. Thank you. May Allah also guide you in your efforts and strengthen you. Ameen. It’s so easy to get lost in the hubbub. Alhamdulillah, I am able to see it before I look up and realize how far away I am.

  3. HijabiApprentice

    Asalaamu Alaikum Sis,

    I’m sure you’ll excel at this assignment! I have a similar assignment but I haven’t been diligent about it. Thanks for giving me a little reminder.

    ma’a salaamah,

    ha

  4. Asalaamu alaikum sister,

    Ah, I just wrote something fairly similar on my private personal blog… 🙂 May Allah make it easy for you to get back to what you need the most.

  5. Good for you!
    I need to write a list of things, myself…a long one…

    cute pics 😉

  6. Salaam Alaikum,

    I know the feeling exactly. For me it’s too much thinking about being a Muslim and not enough thinking about Allah swt.

    May Allah swt reward you for your efforts.

  7. TheAngryMuslimah

    Salaam,
    This post has encouraged me …..much I am forgetting and need to due…InshaAllah I will get better

  8. Pingback: Update on My Assignment « Jamerican Muslimah: Talking it Plain

  9. Subhanallah, I just wanted to let you know–our paths are so similar, and reading this entry makes me feel like I’m on the right track. A friend directed me to your Muslim Male Privilege Checklist, which is awesome. I’ve been really focused on “issues,” like you say, and writing about women in our ummah. And I’ve felt the same thing–that maybe I’m losing sight of Allah. Alhamdulillah, I’m getting back to basics now. Salaam alaikum.

Leave a Reply

