Trying New Things

As much as I love structure, order and routine I have realized that it’s time for me to get “out there” and try some new things. I’m tired of the same ole same ole. I have decided to do the following, insha’allah:

  • Take a Capoeria  or martial arts class. I found a Capoeria class that is $5 per class. The only thing is that it’s at 10AM on Saturdays. (Not a good time for someone who hates getting up in the morning- especially on a Saturday). But $5? Wow.
  • Make a visit to one place per year that I’ve never been to before. For some reason I’ve always wanted to see Rhode Island. Yes, I know there’s probably nothing to see over there but I need to take the little excursion just so I can satisfy my curiosity.
  • I want to go on the game show “Moment of Truth.” I’m not sure if I’ll actually do it or even if they would accept me but I think about it all the time. As you can tell, I have NO PROBLEM talking it plain. (Hmph)
  • Not back down from a task just because I find it cumbersome. (Sometimes I have a tendency- depending on the task at hand- to give up). Insha’allah I will perservere even if it something I really don’t want to do but is beneficial for me (or some else) in the long run.
  • Take a class on Sunni Path
  • Find a way to get my “Halal hustle on.” With the rising food and gas prices I think it’s a good idea to cash in on some of the skills I have. After all, Allah gave them to me. As it stands, I’m thinking about what I can do…hmm…
3 responses to “Trying New Things

  1. asa
    having passed through childhood, adolescents and most of my then adult life without EVER running a complete mile, i began running several years ago and have been a runner ever since. something new is always good. all the best with your new challenge.

  2. Asalaamu alaikum, ukhti.

    Well, I see #1 & 4 being sorta interrelated and counting as an extra “new thing”, LOL.

    See, if you do number 1, then you can count “disciplining myself to get up on Saturday morning” as an ADDITIONAL new accomplishment. AND you can tell yourself you then also accomplished number 4 by not backing down, but perservereing through getting up on Saturday AND getting through a class. 🙂

    And once you’ve done it, you’ll probably feel so good you’ll want to keep doing it, inshaAllah. 🙂 Sometimes it’s the first step that is the hardest. It sounds like you have some great ideas though, and they are reasonable, it’s not like you’re trying to do something really overwhelming. Have fun!

  3. assalamu alaikum,

    are the capoeria classes back in here or where you are now?

    and if/when you move back up here, maybe we could organize a study circle and get a 30% discount on the sunnipath classes. they just rolled out a new curriculumn with certifications and everything that I’m uber excited about.

Leave a Reply

