Reality

Hijab framing my face

Chiffon trailing behind me

I am like a bride in the mirror examining herself for the first time

There is caution in my gaze

Heaviness in my step

Flowers springing from my palms

Ferocity lurking behind this shy smile

I am not the character you want me to be

Nor the stereotype you visualized

I am something else

Not easily categorized or defined

I am not willing to shuck and jive for you

I am not that kind of performer

At the same time

I do not defend myself

Or

Explain myself to you

I don’t see the need

Or

Believe you to be so important to warrant such a response

I just speak in a confident manner

I talk it plain

And tell you how it is

And I pretend not to notice your discomfort

©2008 JAMuslimah

Leave a Reply

