Round 2: The Cafe Meeting

I sigh
You shift in your seat
You pretend not to notice the pain in my eyes or hear the crack in my voice
I will not beg or plead
It’s so unbecoming of a woman like me
And I don’t wear it well
Besides
This is what you want
And because I know you want it so much I am refusing to budge
I will not relent
You see, I’m stubborn like that

Things are complicated between you and I
No matter how much progress we make
I find myself floating back to the beginning
And we rewind
Starting over again

You are a collector of hearts
And mine is locked in a vault somewhere
I told you I’m stubborn but you don’t want to accept it
You keep pushing and pushing
So we remain deadlocked
We do this song and dance every Wednesday
And we never get anywhere

So what do you want from me?
Why are you here?
What do you hope to accomplish?
I think I’ve grown tired of this arrangement
I’m not sure if I want to play this game anymore
But I’m such a sucker for you
And you know how to push the right buttons
Keep me whirling like a dervish

So here we are
I sigh
You shift in your seat again
I look away
And we’re ready for Round 2

©2008 JAMuslimah

2 responses to “Round 2: The Cafe Meeting

  1. Mashallah, sis. You are a great writer. I’m really feeling you on this one.

  2. Jazakhallah. Thank you Kiki. 🙂

Leave a Reply

