B-girl Anthem

“Yesterday I saw a B-girl crying,
I walked up and asked what’s wrong, she told me that the radio’s been playing the same song all day long…
so I told her I got something you’ve been waiting for, I got something you’ve been waiting for…”

Yes, I was somewhat of a B-girl back in the day. I couldn’t rap, I couldn’t flow but I could dance. Now I’m retired but it’s still in me… 

Thanks to The Roots (in the youtube video posted above) for recognizing our suffering. Last year was a good year for me in terms of hip hop. I actually found some I could listen to without my ears feeling like they were going to burn and then fall off.  Between Talib Kweli, Common, Lupe Fiasco, Amir Sulaiman, Tyson and now The Roots, the B-girl lurking in me feels a little better. *sigh of relief*

3 responses to “B-girl Anthem

  1. I was just listening to that song this morning and thinking about how much music has changed!! last year was a good year for real “b-girl” hip-hop!

  2. not that long ago, i used to be a b-girl myself but i gave it up becuase the quality of the music tanked and i had hmc (note, another gratuitous mention of my child on your blog).

  3. Salaam Alaikum,

    I love, love, love the photo!

    Love,

    A secret B-girl.

Leave a Reply

