Inside my head part 2 (random thoughts)

-Having little feet is nice. (I wear a 6 or 6 1/2). I went to Target and bought shoes off the clearance rack for $5 each. Alhamdulillah!

-I’m offically hooked on The Tea Garden. If you love tea and you’re ever in the Twin Cities, I urge you to visit the Tea Garden. My favorite drink is the Jack-fruit shake with Tapioca pearls. Yummy!

-Can I also tell you how much I love yellow dates? I’m normally one of those people who doesn’t like dates. Psychologically, I could not get over the fact that the harder ones resemble South Florida cockroaches. ( I know, I know). HOWEVER, that all changed when I sank my teeth into yellow dates. Now I’m hooked.  I’ve also discovered that brown dates dipped in creme is delicious. (At the halal store here they have an imported Danish creme that goes great with dates).

-I’m trying to mentally prepare myself for Ramadan. Sadly, I’ve been gorging myself on Soca, Dancehall, and R&B because I know I won’t be watching the videos or listening to music as much during Ramadan. (Hey, at least I’m honest with myself…) The point being that I really need to use the time to focus on my spiritual development.

-Speaking of Soca…I came across this video from Krosfyah and I noticed they had a niqabi dancing in the party, lol. I get that the theme was like a United Nations of sorts with people of different backgrounds grooving together. Still, it seems weird to see a niqabi wukking up to Soca. (She’s on 2:41, 3:25, 3:28 and at the end of the video for interested parties). More than likely she’s not Muslim but someone they had “dress like a Muslim.” Anyway, I’m feeling the song…

-Am I the only one who finds it difficult to read while fasting? My level of concentration just isn’t there. Last Ramadan I tried to read The Book of Essential Islam by Ali Rafea and found that I couldn’t really absorb the book’s message. (It’s not exactly easy reading either). I was becoming very frustrated with myself until I realized that the hunger just wouldn’t let me focus on such complex concepts. I think I need to stick to simple books…any suggestions?

2 responses to “Inside my head part 2 (random thoughts)

  1. Asa-alaimu-alaikum,
    I thought I was the only one that thought those small hard little ones looked like roaches!

  2. Salaams Sis:

    I love medool dates because they are so soft and chewy. I will have to try the yellow ones.

    Sis, your blog looks wonderful, Masha Allah!

Leave a Reply

