Checking in

As salaam alaikum all,

Ramadan Mubarak. Just checking in to say hello. Ramadan is such a busy time for us all. I usually come home from work, try to catch an hour nap, go to the masjid for iftar, stay for part of Taraweeh and then come home and go to bed. On the weekend I have so many errands to run. But I’m not complaining. This is a blessed time of year and I really love it. I wish I could always feel like this…

I’m working a temp job at a university’s school of business. (I still haven’t found a permanent job but I have some prospects, alhamdulillah). If I spoke about White privilege and office culture before I really hadn’t seen anything until I started working at this job. Not only is the office culture White but in my opinion the program itself whips its students into conformity.  I’m thankful every day that I never went to business school. Based on the dress requirements alone I would not be a good fit. (Yes, they even tell their students how to dress!)  I’m not sure how people of color (and moreso Muslims) survive those programs without completely losing themselves in the process. It seems like when people come out of the program they’d be fully indoctrinated. Then again, maybe that’s my bias having graduated from a liberal arts school.

I’m thankful for the opportunity to work there and earn some money but I could not imagine being there long term. Compared to the rest of the university, the business school has a completely different feel to it.  I can’t wait to be back in a non-profit/government agency again.

Somebody make du’a for me- FOR REAL!

2 responses to “Checking in

  1. New to your blog, caught you on rahma’s blog and busted a gut at the “friends don’t let friends go to wisconsin” quip.

    Loves it.

    Are you still in the TC? I’m a minnesotan Muslimah expating around Cairo currently. Maybe we know each other? Dar al Farooq perhaps?

    On to your post, are you working at the Carlson School? I was an international business major for a year before I ran screaming. I definitely couldn’t be brainwashed into learning how to best fleece the average consumer. I agree with all of your conclusions regarding that.

    Inshallah everything works out for you and you get to where you want to be. 🙂

  2. Yes, I’m still in the Twin Cities. Is Molly your real name? If so I think I may have met you before.

    And yes, I’m working at the Carlson School. (May Allah assist me).

Leave a Reply

