One Halloween Thought

For my non-Muslim (and non-practicing Muslim people out there) please don’t dress up as a Muslim woman. I beg of you. You may call me a killjoy or a wet blanket. You may ask me what’s wrong with “becoming someone else” for one day. I’d ask that you read this post over at Racialicious. A friend of my mine who lives near the University of Minnesota told me that she saw a man dressed in an abaya and hijab. Apparently, he was a Muslim/Arab woman (his words) for Halloween. My friend and her husband actually tried to engage the man in a conversation about his “costume.”  They wanted to explain why his outfit was offensive. However,  the man saw nothing wrong with appropriating the [cultural] dress of a Muslim woman. He wished them a Happy Halloween before telling them that they should “lighten up.”

I have a Caucasian friend who is Muslim and she wears the hijab and abaya everyday. On Halloween last year, a guy approached her and told her “now is not the time to wear a costume like that.” He was baffled when my friend told him that she was not wearing a costume. *sigh*

So, I reiterate, please spare us all and do not don a costume as a Muslim woman (or your idea of a Muslim woman.) Many of us are not laughing or amused. Thank you!

11 responses to “One Halloween Thought

  1. I agree with you , I know people may think it is funny , but Allah has made it clear in the quran not to make fun of muslims , it is serious . Why can’t people be funny without insulting other peoples cultural or islamic dress. It would not be right for a muslim to make fun of the pope or dress up as one as a joke , because were supposed to respect . Hope my comment was made clear 😀

  2. O.M.G.
    (shaking head) Some people…

  3. I was thinking, what is the big deal. People dress up as priest, munks, rabbi or clergy from other religious groups. Why not muslim? Many are just dressing up as someone they admire or aspire to be. No problem and muslims will have to get over it as halloween or harvest festivals are a part of America. Although a muslim maybe offended by the dress-up, he/she should not be concerned because it is not their holiday, (x-mas) or cultural activity (kwanzaa). BUT THEN….. What if people dressed up as a black man or urban female youth(lol) in black face with their pants hanging down and crack viles on a badana or babies hanging off their hips and pushing a stroller? Oh yeah, there would be a problem with that. I get it and how. Thanks for checking me and EVERYONE else on this. Not eveyone is dressing up as someone they admire or aspire to be, but to belittle and promote hate and/or sterotypes.

    My baad
    Z

  4. Salaams Sis:

    I also remember when girls dressed up as Catholic nuns.

    BTW, I love the abaya in the picture.

    Insha Allah you are well, dear.

  5. Wait, people actually do this?

  6. as salam ‘alaykum

    Ay Dios Mio. I went out on Halloween for a little bit and honestly wondered if anyone had dressed up like a Muslimah. Subhana’Allah, people are ridiculous.

  7. Mashallah Islam is the best religion

    joke all your like like the sense of humour
    Halloween is a joke and all those that follow it too

    islam is everywhere insults the hijab and clothing
    I CANT CHANGE PEOPLE
    ARE YOU PREGNANT, ILL, TO FAT, IS IT NOT HOT,YOU LOOK OLDER THAN YOUR MOM/IN LAW WHY ARE YOU SO OLD FASHION

    COS I LOVE ALLAH AND PLEASE HIM

    MY HUSBAND DOES NOT APPROVE TOO ALL SHAITAAN FASHIONS WILL COME AND GO

    I ONLY RESPECT MY ALLAH AND THE REST IS TOO FEEBLE AND DUMB,
    IGNORANT ONES CAN PLASTER MAKE UP AND WALK HALF NAKED WITH UNDERWEAR ARE EVEN MORE THAN PRE -HISTORIC
    SABR MY DEAR FRIENDS
    I PUT ON JEANS T SHIRTS EXPENSIVE UNDERWEAR
    PERFUME LIKE ANY OTHER JUST NOT AN ADVERTISEMENT FOR CHEAP MEN LOOKING FOR MEAT TO LOOK AT

  8. Asalam Alaikoum,

    I agree that people make fun of what they don’t understand. Now the new propaganda is making all Muslims out to be terrorists when that is very contrary to the fact. It used to be Blacks were bad, Asians stealing jobs or in WWII killing, Hispanics stealing jobs, etc. I really get very tired of it all. I wear an ankle length Khimar and often a Chador, always in black and I get odd stares and often rude stares because people see and believe everything they see on tv without stopping to think about the the stark contrasts. They will question the positive and believe the negative. Insha’allah I am working keeping my deen straight even though it is very difficult working around the khufar but I try. It is important to remind oneself that wearing the hijab we must keep a certain level of respectfulness because the hijab is supposed to be a constant reminder that Allah subhana’wa ta’allah is watching. Even my road rage issues are being watched. I often have to catch myself. We need to work twice as hard to dispell the stereotypes. I am black to and have to work hard to dispell that stereotype as well. It can be very frustrating but my sisters please be careful and Insha’allah if we don’t meet in this life then I will see you in the hereafter in our picnic in the sky. All god-fearing people are welcome.

  9. hallo
    i want please to have your adress to visit you if you are in turky
    big thank s

  10. What if you want to dress up as someone you admire and they happen to wear hijab? I am a major X-Men fan, and in the current version of the young X-Men, there is a character- her codename is Dust, but her real name is Sooraya Qadir- and she wears Niqab. I think she’s a really cool superhero. No problem dressing as Batgirl, why not Dust?

Leave a Reply

