Randomness…

-Speaking of rage. If I’m not careful I’m going to turn into a Muslim version of Vanessa Williams’ character on “Ugly Betty.” Devious, the kind of woman you love to hate, fabulous but not a good way to be in the long run.
vanessa_williamsthumbnail
Sometimes I wish I could be sweet more than just some of the time…*does a cat hiss loudly*

-Just in case it slipped past you. Read this article about the $50 billion of bailout money going to employee bonuses. Can I get a bail out on my student loans? What about the sub prime lending victims who are losing their homes? If this isn’t injustice I don’t know what is…the rich get richer and the poor become jobless and eventually homeless. Allah save me us. Ameen.

-At work we played this game where we all submitted a little known fact about ourselves and then tried to guess which fact matched the participants. I pronounce myself the official winner! I admitted to them (and now to you) that I was once a contestant on MTV’s Singled Out. I think someone’s going to revoke my Viva La Feminista pass…(Don’t you go looking for archives now)!

-I have one more week before my temp assignment ends. I’ve been here two and a half months but it feels like a year. I’ll miss it mostly because I’ve gotten used to the routine. At the same time, I’m excited to begin my new position, insha’allah. It’ll be quite a switch to move from a prestigious business school to Adult Corrections.

-I am trying to create a Hijabi B-girl look for my days off. It doesn’t seem difficult to do on a budget. We’ll see what I come up with…

-Is it just me or did Seal do a fabulous job with this Sam Cooke song. Wow!

3 responses to “Randomness…

  1. Salam!

    Looooooooooooove Wilhelmina. She’s terrible and fabulous.

    And co-sign on that bail out for my student loans!!!

  2. that song has so much feeling and emotion behind it whenever anyone gets the notes right its gonna come out good…lol…but I agree he did a good job.

  3. Salaam Alaikum,

    That’s such a good Wilhelmina photo too. She’s actually a surprisingly well written character, not just a cardboard cutout schemer. Has Season 3 started over there yet? We’re still waiting for it here.

    I’d love to hear more about being on Singled Out – do tell!

Leave a Reply

