What’s your personality?

Have any of you ever taken the Myers-Briggs personality test? I’ve taken it several times for different reasons- school, work, and personal interests. The description of me is dead on. It’s almost creepy how well it defines my personality (even things I don’t want to admit.) If you’ve never taken it you can do so here.

No matter how many times I take the test I still keep seeing the same letters. I‘m a perpetual ISTJ. After retaking the test I am now an INTJ. It was hard for me to accept but I think I still embody some of the characteristics of an ISTJ. The difference that I’ve noticed (which has landed me in the INTJ category) is that I no longer hold fast to the conventional or traditional as much as I used to.

Here is what it says about me:

To outsiders, INTJs may appear to project an aura of “definiteness”, of self-confidence. This self-confidence, sometimes mistaken for simple arrogance by the less decisive, is actually of a very specific rather than a general nature; its source lies in the specialized knowledge systems that most INTJs start building at an early age. When it comes to their own areas of expertise — and INTJs can have several — they will be able to tell you almost immediately whether or not they can help you, and if so, how. INTJs know what they know, and perhaps still more importantly, they know what they don’t know.

INTJs are perfectionists, with a seemingly endless capacity for improving upon anything that takes their interest. What prevents them from becoming chronically bogged down in this pursuit of perfection is the pragmatism so characteristic of the type: INTJs apply (often ruthlessly) the criterion “Does it work?” to everything from their own research efforts to the prevailing social norms. This in turn produces an unusual independence of mind, freeing the INTJ from the constraints of authority, convention, or sentiment for its own sake.

INTJs are known as the “Systems Builders” of the types, perhaps in part because they possess the unusual trait combination of imagination and reliability. Whatever system an INTJ happens to be working on is for them the equivalent of a moral cause to an INFJ; both perfectionism and disregard for authority may come into play, as INTJs can be unsparing of both themselves and the others on the project…

11 responses to “What’s your personality?

  1. Assalaamaulaikum-I just took mine and I am a INFJ:

    “Counselors have an exceptionally strong desire to contribute to the welfare of others, and find great personal fulfillment interacting with people, nurturing their personal development, guiding them to realize their human potential. Although they are happy working at jobs (such as writing) that require solitude and close attention, Counselors do quite well with individuals or groups of people, provided that the personal interactions are not superficial, and that they find some quiet, private time every now and then to recharge their batteries. Counselors are both kind and positive in their handling of others; they are great listeners and seem naturally interested in helping people with their personal problems. Not usually visible leaders, Counselors prefer to work intensely with those close to them, especially on a one-to-one basis, quietly exerting their influence behind the scenes.

    Counselors are scarce, little more than one percent of the population, and can be hard to get to know, since they tend not to share their innermost thoughts or their powerful emotional reactions except with their loved ones. They are highly private people, with an unusually rich, complicated inner life. Friends or colleagues who have known them for years may find sides emerging which come as a surprise. Not that Counselors are flighty or scattered; they value their integrity a great deal, but they have mysterious, intricately woven personalities which sometimes puzzle even them.”

    Yes, that is definitely me. I don’t have any desire to be known (I love anonymity), I’m extremely private and I definitely am “a stranger” to myself at times, which I kind of like.

  2. For the record, I’m INTJ, and most of the things mentioned are dead right.

  3. Okay, so I took it again (twice) and I’m getting INTJ…weird.

  4. I hadn’t done this in a while so I couldn’t remember, but after taking the test just now, it says I’m INFJ.

  5. I just did it just now – I’m INFP. Its pretty accurate I think…

  6. I took it and I too am a INTJ. NOW knowing that this personality type is rare explains why I never meet anyone who is ANYTHING like me. I am so happy to find that my ideas of relationships and social matters are “normal”…for INTJ’s anyway.
    Thank you for posting this!!! It has given me an unexpected sense of peace concerning who I am. Allah is truly kind and Merciful. Ameen.

  7. I am a ISTJ and which is a correct description of me. The fact that I am working in one of the fields best suited for me, according to the testers, is also a good indication that the test may have some truth to it.

  8. ASA Samah,
    You have such an interesting and varied blog. Good luck on your new job. Keep upi the good work.
    Fi Iman Ilah,
    Najea
    Hijabi Couture, CEO
    http://hijabicouture.blogspot.com

  9. I just took the test and I am an infj. I think it is very accurate and I am in good company being an infj. Some famous ones are: Immanual Kant, William Shakespeare, Ludwig Beethoven, Pearl Buck. Pretty Neat!!

  10. UmmMohebyAlIslam

    I took it and I’m an INFJ personality! Oh well! what can I say. It think they have a point in my case.

    Now, what field would INFJ fit in to?

  11. I’m an ENFJ and it says my pals should be INFJ..interesting..I see some on here..check out my blog..you are supposed to like it!

Leave a Reply

