Gratitude

gratitude

As we all do sometimes,  I was inwardly complaining to myself about what I don’t have. I was going on and on comparing myself to other people then I caught myself. I realized I was being ungrateful for all of the things Allah has blessed me with. (Coincidentally, the kutbah today was about gratitude- just what I needed!) I reversed my inward complaints then started to think about what I DO have. I came up with a mental check list of things I should be grateful for even though I may- at times- feel like I should have more. This is by no means an exhaustive list but it’s a good start:

-I am in good health. All of my faculties work. I am not bed-ridden. I am not terminally ill. I am not battling a debilitating disease or recovering from a serious injury.

-I have a car…some people have to rely on others or take the bus everywhere. What’s more, I have a newer car. A nice car. (Maybe I’ll show my appreciation for it by washing it tomorrow, insha’allah).

-I have a place to live. I’m not homeless. Right now I’m living rent-free.

-I have food to eat. Good food to eat.

-I have clothing to wear. Lots of clothing. Nice clothing.

-I am literate. I can read at a high level. I can write.

-I have skills that I am getting paid for. I have a college degree. I understand and know how to play the corporate game.

-I have the courage to stand by my principles even when it’s unpopular to do so. I speak up no matter who’s doing the talking because Allah has blessed me to be courageous in the face of injustice.

-Alhamdulillah, I have a job. After months of unemployment. In this these hard economic times I was fortunate enough to have three job offers to choose from. I have extra money I can use for entertainment purposes.

-I have my family. Yes, they get on my nerves sometimes and I’m sure I get on theirs but I have them. (And my mom keeps finding more of them!)

-I have Islam. I am Muslim. Yes, it’s difficult sometimes but there is nothing else I’d rather be. I know what my purpose is in this world. I have guidance. I am not somewhere smoking weed, drinking, partying, committing zina, and self-destructing. Allah has blessed me with clarity and insight that many of the people I’m around do not have. That is such a blessing in this time of confusion.

-I have prayer. I have Allah. I know no matter what’s going on in my life I can turn to Allah and ask for his assistance. I have can ask for his guidance. For provision. I am fortunate enough to know when it comes to my relationship with Allah no one else exists in the world except me and him. I know my Lord can do that, can be that for me. It’s a courtesy he alone can extend to me. Allahu Akbar!

Thank you Allah for everything. I can never count  all of the blessings, the rewards. Save me from myself. Save me from others. Count me amongst those who are grateful to you. Ameen.

4 responses to “Gratitude

  1. Pingback: Gratitude by Jamerican Muslimah « Grateful To Allah

  2. Great post!!!

    And I definitely have to give you a big congratulations for your nomination on the Brass Crescent Awards! 😀

  3. ASA Fatemeh,

    I didn’t even know I was nominated, lol. Believe it or not I was told by someone from the office of Queen Rania.

  4. Salam sister. I spent 2 hours on your blog commenting here and there and did not know why I’m hooked to it until came finally to this one which brought tears to my eyes 🙂 Yes, my spirit wanted to feel “connected” and your words made that connection with my Allah (swt) possible via words like these ones. Pls. never EVER forget these words that you wrote. Jazak Allah. Amir Ali Tayyab. Qurango.com

Leave a Reply

