Randomness

-The Chinese calendar says it’s The Year of the Ox. I beg to differ. Michelle Obama has shown us all that it’s

The Year of the Black Woman. (Dun know)!
0829-michelle-obama-dnc-thakoon-dress-fa01

-I want to thank Xey,  a blogger who suggested I try to a Neti pot as an alternative to taking my allergy medication. It was all working out so well. For a full week I was off the Nasocort! I was twirling around, rejoicing, looking at the dust bunnies like “WHAT?! What you gotta say now!” Too bad it didn’t last. I was back at the allergist today begging for more medication like a junkie looking for a fix. *sigh*

-I’m convinced that Mormons are afraid to proselytize to a hijabi. (Well, at least the ones in my neighborhood). I always see them and they will stop and talk to anyone on the street  but they never say anything to me. (Which is good I suppose). My theory was proven true by the following incident:  I was outside shoveling snow and breaking up ice. I had my hood pulled over my head since it was some ridiculous temperature like -11 or something. These Mormon dudes came by on their bikes and offered to help me. I declined. They started into their spiel about the Church of the Latter Day Saints. I pulled down my hood and told them I’m doing okay on the religion bit. (I was wearing a black hijab too)! They looked at one another and told me if I’m interested I can log onto their website before hopping onto their bikes and riding away. “Hey, come back! I wanted to tell you about the ummah of Muhammad (s.a.w.)!”

-I’d like to go to the Opera. Seriously! I’m a closet Opera fan. It all started with Kathleen Battle back in the 90’s. Now I find myself branching out, enjoying other artists. Go ahead and say it, I’m moving further into bourgie land…I know it.

-I need to get my new TV before the HD conversion starts, insha’allah. My current TV (with the rabbit ears- no cable over here!) has been on the blink for some time now. I’m embarrassed to tell you how old it is. Let’s just say I’ve had it since undergrad and it was rather old then. Anyhow, I’m excited! Watching TV in HD is like, “Wooooooooooooow!!!!” (Flava Flav style)

-I could use the day spa experience I’ve been dreaming about for a year now.

-There are days when I miss being in college. Believe it or not grad school was WAY more fun than undergrad for me. I felt like I got a college life “do over.” Good times, good times.

-I need an imam boost. Seriously. I feel like I’m drowning over here. I just feel a little uninspired. Feel like I’m taking one step forward and two steps back.  What do I need? A class? A book? To fast? Offer du’a? All of them? I don’t know…may Allah guide me.

But enough about me. What’s going on with some of you? Drop me a line and give me an update. Don’t be shy.

11 responses to “Randomness

  1. sistafromanotherplanet

    Well, well, well, I’m glad you have come to take up residence here in the magnificent depths of Bourgieland! Opera, ballet, $5 bottled water, spa days, is all here for your Bourgie pleasure. So sit back, relax and enjoy your stay here. It is like the Hotel California you can check out anytime you like, but you will NEVER leave! You just ascend futher into Bourgieness! Don’t be shamed gal, be Bourgie and Proud, I know I am! You can live next to me in Bourgieland, I will save a nice warm spot for ya!

  2. LOL. You’re funny. Here it goes: “Hi, my name is Shahidah and I’m Bourgie!” *stands proudly, waves at Tiffany*

  3. I LOVE OPERA, TOO! Maria Callas is diviiiiiine.

    (sigh) Ah, the carefree days of grad school…how I miss them…

  4. Ah you Bourgie women. Its amazing. You know what though. I LOVE IT.
    Honestly, going to the MET, or the MOMA, or the HIGH *all museums* and seeing my sister there. It fills me with such joy that often times Ill greet her with a salams, or a hello. And if its a hello, compliment her on her beautiful hijab, and if its a salams, then compliment her on her beautiful hijab.

    These days I can totally agree with you needing an Imam boost. I need to do SOMETHING different, be it grad school or whatever, maybe I need a new country, Baghdad is losing its glossyness.

  5. I’m feeling the year of the Black woman!!

  6. Yeah… the neti pot is for non-severe problems. I’m glad it worked out for you, even if only temporarily. And glad you didn’t drown yourself! 🙂

    Opera is awesome.. and, yes, Fatemeh, Maria Callas IS divine.

    I guess you didn’t hear? The DTV transition has been pushed back to June. Aren’t you mad? I know I was when I heard it on the news this morning. All that fuss, and now I STILL have to wait. I’ve waited long enough… http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2339644,00.asp

  7. broke folk such as myself cant venture much into bourgie land, but who says you still cant get your classical/opera music on?

    http://comedians.comedycentral.com/retta/videos/retta—classical-music

  8. mnt that was hilarious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. I don’t think Mormon missionaries are trained to deal with Muslims. They’re just kids after all, most of them around 19 or 20. I think they are trained to speak with mostly Protestant Christians, especially non-practicing ones, or Americans who do not consider themselves Christian but may have a Christian background. Catholics too, now that i think about it, there are a lot of Hispanic Mormon converts.

  10. Salaam Alaikum,

    I had a baby, alhamdulilah! That’s kept me very busy, alhamdulilah.

  11. Safiya, CONGRATULATIONS!!!! May Allah bless you and your family.

Leave a Reply

