Remembering Allah Throughout the Day

allah21

I recently had a conversation with my homeboy about small ways we can engage in dhkir- the remembrance of Allah- throughout the course of a busy day. He suggested reciting the 99 names of Allah at some point during the day. I think that is a wonderful idea! I’ve only been doing it for two days now but I started going through the 99 names using this website. I was surprised how little time it took- maybe 10 minutes. I’m also thinking about other ways I can remember Allah beyond just “thinking about him” and beyond the two breaks I take to pray Zhur and Asr.

What suggestions do you have? What are some of the ways you take time to remember Allah throughout the day?

14 responses to “Remembering Allah Throughout the Day

  1. bismillah

    as salamu alaykum : )

    One thing that really helps is to take time and think about my blessings, although it doesn’t happen as often as it should.

    I don’t have every name that we know of Allah memorized and would like to memorize them insha’Allah. To ponder over His Names and ponder over their meaning in our lives can truly be life changing.

  2. ASA sis,

    What ur doing is good. My dad suggested i should do dhikr too for many reasons and it just boost u mentality, I donno how to explain. I just repeat some of the Names of Allah again and again while taking the bus or when my mind is idle. Repeating and remember Allah is definitely the right thing to do. If you drive thats the best time to do Dhikr too, because when something happens, God Forbid, then you may be considered shaheed. Well, I was told this by my pops.

  3. Maybe say bismillah when beginning every small task and alhumdulillah upon its completion. I think if we say it in a mindful way, not just a mechanical, we can remember what we’re doing this all for.

  4. As Salaamu Alaikum:

    http://www.mounthira.com (at the bottom of the opening page) has a good method for remembering the Names. 3 Names a day for 33 days.

  5. As Salaamu alaykum,

    Ukhti, you should avoid that website where you got the “99 Names of Allaah”, avoid ALL posters with the “99 Names of Allaah”, and most books; because they ALWAYS contain names that ARE NOT Allaah’s Names. The website you cited has nineteen false names:

    1. Al Khafid – The Abaser
    2. Ar Raafi’ – The Exalter
    3. Al Mu’izz – The Bestower of Honor
    4. Al Mudhill – The Humiliator
    5. Al Ba’ith – The Ressurector
    6. Al Muhsi – The Appraiser
    7. Al Muhyi – The Giver of Life
    8. Al Mumit – The Taker of Life
    9. Al Wajid – The Finder
    10. Al Muqaddam – The Expediter
    11. Al-Mu’akhkhir – The Delayer
    12. Al Zahir – The Manifest One
    13. Al Muntaqim – The Avenger
    14. Al Muqsit – The Equitable One
    15. “Al Jami” should be “Al Jaami’un Nas” – The Gather of Mankind
    16. Ad Darr – The Creator of The Harmful
    17. An Nafi’ – The Creator of Good
    18. Al Badi – The Originator
    19. Al Baqi – The Ever lasting One

    These fake names find their origin with the deviate Ash’aaris, sufis, Mu’tazila etc, those who deny Allaah’s Names and Attributes. I’m a stickler for this because I spent five years going around calling myself Daud Abdur Raaf’, until I read Shaykh Abdur Rahman As Sa’di’s (rahimahullaah) book called:

    “An Explanation To The Beautiful and Perfect Names of Allah”.

    In the book he brings the Names and the Attributes of Allaah, with the proofs from the Qur’an and Sunnah.

    Most of the above are attributes of Allaah, not names. You will not find Ayaat in the Qur’an mentioning them as Names of Allaah. A glimpse at the Islaamic naming system can provide clarity. We name ourselves after Allaah’s Beautiful Names, not His Attributes. For Example, Allaah says often in the Qur’an that He has Al Ghayb (knowledge of the Unseen). But, it is not permissible for a Muslim to go around calling himself “Abdul Ghayb” i.e. Servent of the Knower of the Unseen, because Allaah nor His Messenger (salallaahu alayhi wa salam) named Him with that Name.

    Remember, Allaah’s Beautiful Names and Attributes are a foundation from the Islaamic Aqeedah, therefore they not open to the opinions of men and women–they require textual proofs! Get Imam Sa’di’s book (rahimahullaah) so you can call on your Lord with authentic Names.

    I’m not a Muhaddith so don’t quote me as an authority; but I haven’t heard of a Hadith that says recite the Beautiful Names of Allaah. I do know of one that says call on Him by these names as a means to get near to Him i.e. Tawassul. If you know a Hadith that says recite them, then bring it so I can benefit from it.

    Lastly, Mevlâna Jalâluddîn Rumi was a sufi mushrik who wrote beautiful poetry that was FILLED WITH SHIRK. For the sake of your Deen, stay away from ANYTHING that has his name on it.

    The ruling on Rumi’s evil poetry, like every other kind of deviation is well documented by the scholars in the Arabic language. Ask one of your Arabic speaking friends, who ain’t already a sufi, to read what the scholars from Ahlus Sunnah wal Jamaa’ah who were alive during Rumi’s era and beyond, thought of his poetry. There’s probably some stuff on the web about him, since his poetry is so wide-spread in the Ummah.

    Alhamdulillaah for the Scholars of Islaam, because they protect us from falsehood!!!

  6. YourSisterInIslam

    Asalamu Alakum dear sister in Islam,
    there are some evening dua`s, some long some short that you can say maybe after you asr salaat or even before, anytime during the afternoon. There are also morning dua`s. The short ones you can memorize Inshaallah, and if you can even the long ones Inshaallah. You can also say ‘Subhanallah,Alhamdulillah, Allahu Akbar’ throughout your day. Sister Inshaallah I ask Allah Subhana Wa Ta`alaa to make it easy for you and keep you away from any false information in this beautiful Deen, and I ask Allah Subhana Wa Ta`alaa to reward you [Ameen]
    Salaam

  7. ALLAH HU AKBAR…

  8. Wow. This Is Beautiful Mashallah!!

  9. What is Allah?

  10. i love my religion IsLam is the best of all religions i love ALLAH I love Allah I love ISlam

  11. I just can say ALLAHU AKBAR Allah can everything see an do it is so wonderful

  12. Peace and Blessings be upon everyone. Responding to Cassandra’s question, who is Allah?

    Allah is our Creator. He created the universe and everything in it, including you and me.

    In the Holy Qur’an, surah Al-Ikhlâs (Purity), chapter 112 Allah is defined as follows:

    In the name of God, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

    Say: He is Allah, the One and Only!
    Allah, the Eternal, Absolute;
    He begetteth not nor is He begotten.
    And there is none like unto Him.

    The whole of mankind and creation have been taught to worship no deity except Allah. Allah is most praise worthy and all praise and worship is due to Allah.

    Allah is the most Generous and Kindest.

  13. allah hu akber

  14. Salam Sister, The best way to do Zikr is obviously Prayer (namaz) to Him (swt) 5 times a day. And even more if you can like Rasulullah (saw) did. Beyond that zikr, I always focus on keeping on discovering Him (swt) through every little thing (of nature) He (swt) created and praising Him (swt) i.e. Subhan Wa Taala, and then whenever I see anything too beautiful, saying “Masha Allah”. And when I’m just with myself, then I address Him (swt) as if He (swt) was sitting in front of me and discuss everything that I have to say to Him (swt). I used to blog, got too much attention when I needed only His (swt) attention and nobody else’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

