25 Random Facts About Ya Girl

I was tagged by SFAP on Facebook. However, like her, I decided to post my response on my blog.

saltnpeppa1

  1. I’m afraid of bugs and spiders. One time I went into my bathroom and found some weird cricket-looking thing perched right on top of the toilet. Needless to say, I did not use the bathroom until I could find someone to get it out of there.
  2. I must be THEE ONLY person in the world who doesn’t like the taste of honey. I literally wretch from the taste of it. If I eat any food that contains honey it has to be cleverly disguised.
  3. I also do not like blueberries, olives (black or green), creamy corn, or fortune cookies.
  4. If I weren’t Muslim I probably would’ve pursued a singing career. I wrote my first song when I was 7 years old. I used to perform for family members- for a fee of course! 🙂
  5. I successfully avoided the tattoo craze. All of my friends were getting them back in the day.
  6. For as much of neat freak as I am, I hate making the bed. What’s the point? You’re going to get right back in it.
  7. Did I mention that I’m a bit of a neat freak?
  8. Right now I’m craving Ethiopian food. My Fasika partners in crime are out of commission right now so I’ll wait it out, insha’allah.
  9. Speaking of Ethiopian. Sans hijab, I used to get asked if I was Ethiopian so much that I started questioning myself. I once went to a Jamaican independence celebration and a Jamaican guy asked me if I was from “I-tiyopia.” I couldn’t believe it! In the middle of a Jamaican independence celebration? I jokingly asked my mom, “Are you sure we’re not from Ethiopia?”  LOL. Some days I miss the random “Abesha nesh?” It made for good conversation.
  10. I’m dainty even though I’m strong.
  11. One of the ladies in my office is a “close talker.” If you’ve ever seen the Seinfield episode then you know what I’m talking about.  She gets so close I feel like she’s gonna kiss me…and my door don’t swing that way!
  12. I love socks with designs on them. My mom was shaking her head when she noticed that my socks had stars all over them. And I’m a grown woman…
  13. My favorite hip hop song- the one that keeps my head nodding- is this one. I had never heard a girl come with as much braggadocio and ferocity as she did. I was like “Daaaaaaaaaaaaaaang!” You aint got the bait that it takes to hook this…
  14. Yep, back in the day I had the Salt n’ Pepa asymmetric haircut pictured above. (They were another of my favorite groups back in the day too).  Those hairstyles made you look crazy when your hair started growing back. LOL.
  15. I’m fascinated by the different things that people are strict about in Islam. Some people might call it your “door.” The door through which you can earn blessings and insha’allah admittance into Jannah. It might be your saving grace. For instance, I’m hardcore about salah. I cannot rest, I cannot think straight, I cannot relax until I’ve prayed. Alhamudlillah.
  16. I talk with my hands. My grandmother used to ask “A fly yuh a swaat or wha?”
  17. I’ve been told I have the confidence of  “a man.”
  18. Did you know I’m a fan of Nia Long? I haven’t seen her in much lately. I think she’s incredibly beautiful and talented. If I could look like someone else it’d be her.
  19. I really like Beyonce’s “If I were a Boy” video. Will men get the message?  You know, how does it feel to be in a woman’s position? All the little things they get away with because of their male privilege. But they’re just boys…
  20. And I’m so friggin tired of Muslim men who refuse to acknowledge their male privilege. The more they explain it away and try to justify it the sicker I feel about it all.
  21. For all of my complaints about people thinking I’m from “over there” I realize I sometimes do things that cause people to think that I’m an immigrant. For instance, I think a lot. I’m always inside my own head working out different things. This causes me to miss part of what someone is saying or to ask them to repeat themselves- especially in stores because this when I tend to drift off. Then they explain it again in a slow measured tone.
  22. I use tanning moisturizer on my face so I’ll have a “sun-kissed glow” in the winter time instead of the pale wash out look.
  23. The older I get the less time I have for b.s.
  24. The later it gets the goofier and the sillier I become. Don’t try to have a really serious conversation with me after 1 in the morning.
  25. Countless people have told me I should be a lawyer. I don’t know if it’s because of how assertive I am or because I love arguing or maybe it’s my persistence. I don’t know but I really don’t want to be a lawyer.
8 responses to “25 Random Facts About Ya Girl

  1. Funny-while we were cooking dinner tonight I asked my boo “Hey, who’s your favorite female rapper?”. He replied “Queen Latifah.” I looked at him up and down and was like “How can it not be MC Lyte!”

    I think our honorable mentions included philly’s bahamadia, lauren, Ladybug from digable planets & foxy brown.

  2. LADY, I really feel you on #20 and #23! lol

  3. Salaamu alaykum.. Girl, I’m craving Ethiopian too! My co-worker/ex-professor and I are supposed to go for lunch to the Ethiopian restaurant on Wednesday. I’m excited! And, coincidentally, I went to my Ethiopian friend’s house yesterday and his father was talking to me in Amharic. I get it all the time too. If not that, then Somali or Oromo. 🙂 Hamdulillah, I’m becoming a bit more hardcore about salaat. And I feel you on 20.

  4. sistafromanotherplanet

    Well I guess if we were ever together for any time period and a bug appeared, he could just have the whole place because I so don’t do bugs, AT ALL!

    You are not alone on #21. Sometimes my internal dialogue is just more interesting than what’s going on externally.

    Ameen to #23!!

    As for #9 I can feel you on that one too, except mine is not Ethiopian it is Puerto Rican or Dominican. They start speaking to me in Spanish!

    note to self on #22 I am looking a little pasty right now!

    Love your list!

  5. This list is awesome. i love ethiopian food and Somali food. I’m east African. I love Ethiopian Injera… #20 is totally true.

  6. I had the assymetric cut that looked so wack as it was growing out. But it was fly though!! I sorta miss those days when Black women had their unique style, outside of massive weaves. But then again, we still got our naturals and sister locks, if I even spelled that one right.

  7. You brought smile to my face with #16. I talked with my hands all the time!!
    Cool list

  8. We are >>>here<<< on 15, 18, 23! On 22 bronzer is my cosmetic crutch! LOVES it for that yummy brown glow.

Leave a Reply

