Tired Randomness

I have a couple of serious topics I’m working on but right now I’m tired and a little loopy so I decided to post some of the most random stuff. You ready?

boondocks_s2_final

-I bought Season 2 of The Boondocks. I’m so excited, I can’t wait to watch it. Since I didn’t buy my HD TV yet, insha’allah, I’m going to crash my sister’s place…She’s all grown up now. She even started a blog: check her out.

-It snowed I don’t know how many inches. It took me an hour to get home and then I had to shovel. It’s a good work out, that’s for sure, but I think I’ll pay for it tomorrow…sore arms and all.

-I tuck my cell phone in my hijab in order to have a hands-free device. A lot of people think it’s weird. I think it’s convenient. Some people think it’s funny. I was walking through the sky way and this dude just burst out laughing when he saw me. He said it was cute…

-Speaking of cellphone. I really want a new cellphone. Mine is so goofy. It’s falling apart. Everyone I know who has this phone hates it. But cell phones are expensive…can’t trust the refurbished ones either. T-mobile is screwing me over, saying I can’t get a new one at a discount until October.

-I was flipping through Better Homes and Gardens at work (yea, I know) and I found an excellent idea- hanging purses on shower curtain rings! I gotta try it.

-Speaking of work, I have been at this job 3 months and I’ve gotten asked on dates several times now. (Mostly from convicted felons though). Isn’t that interesting?

-I finally had my Ethiopian food fix. It was yummy!!! Viva la Doro Wat.

-Tomorrow is Friday, YAY! I am so tired…I need to go to bed soon, insha’allah. Anybody know of a good comedy book? Something along the lines of this? I’m in need of one.

I love Ethiopian music. Believe it or not, I used to be able to do the shoulder dance. Forget what it’s called…

GOOD NIGHT. πŸ™‚

13 responses to “Tired Randomness

  1. ZOMG! I love the dancing…
    There’s an Oromo singer; his name’s Shurrobe. He’s really good. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uzEuKcrIvvE
    And Qamar Yusuf too… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pILkrVgT6mw

  2. Oh Xey, I really like the second one, Qamar Yusuf. A lot of my friends were from Dire Dawa. Thanks for posting it.

  3. Aaminah Hernandez

    I use my hijab to hold my cell phone too. One of my older white male co workers thinks it’s genius and “proves that hijab is actually USEFUL”, LOL. He never says anything to me directly about it, but I overhear him as I walk by commenting to others.

    Have you read The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao? Probably not as fun as the Broke Girl, because it is of course also sad and a bit deep. But it is funny too, and I think you would really relate to it.

  4. haha I did the cell phone thing a lot back when I had a flip-phone. As long as your scarf isn’t too loose, it works wonders! πŸ˜€ the hijabi Bluetooth

  5. I use my hijab as a hands-free device as well. Shower curtain rings are also great for hijab-storage!!!

  6. There is an Ethiopian community here in London, and they have quite a few restaurants (not sure how many of them are halaal). I remember going past one of them in Kennington (south London) which had a sign saying “Ethiopian & Eritrean cuisine”, and then the war broke out and the “Eritrean” bit got removed. Sad.

  7. Another Proud Hijabi

    I think some of the dance movements look similar to Krump dancing, which supposedly originated in South Central Los Angeles. Amazing!

  8. Aaminah Hernandez

    Oh, snap…

    We have THREE Ethiopian restraunts locally! And they are all halal! One is actually a tiny grocery that also serves lunch. Another is a small vegetarian Ethiopian restraunt run by one very sweet man. The other is a family run business that is bigger and serves more people, but it is a Muslim family and they are in the same area as one of our larger halal stores so they made a deal with that store to get all their meat from them. I LOVE Ethiopian food and only get it about once a year. 😦

  9. Hijabi Apprentice

    Hijabi Bluetooth is the BUSINESS! I have been known to tuck my house phone under my hijab as well.

  10. sistafromanotherplanet

    Girl I almost choked on my gum when I read about the phone in your hijab! LOL!!!!!!!

  11. sistafromanotherplanet

    You need to write more often when you are sleepy and loopy. I always need a good laugh and you are funny sleepy honey!

  12. muslimahnotes

    I’m all about the cell phone tucked in hijab. But the hijab does have to be tight. In NJ you get a ticket for driving without a hands free device.

    So Whenever I wear an al-amira underscarf with a thin shayla-I tuck the cell phone in and talk my way down the expressway. Multitasking : )

  13. asa. sure hate that you are dealing with the snow. it’s 78ish here today.
    your “clients” don’t lack nerve. not sure where they would plan on taking you given their current state of incarceration, not to mention your lack of interest.
    i could use some eithiopian food myself. the shoulder dance is a great move although i cannot think of the name either.
    splurge…get an iphone!

Leave a Reply

