Unfairness/Inequality/Injustice

Lately I’ve been asking myself a question. I’ve been asking myself why when I see something happen that is wrong (for instance something that is unfair, unjust or inequitable) I can’t just “let it go” as others around me do. Why am I so very disturbed? Why do I become upset? At times I have asked myself, What is wrong with you? Why you can’t just take things in stride? Why you always have to say or do something Shahidah? UGH! Just let it go. Sometimes I feel like I’m the only one that has problem with the way an incident was handled or with the way a person was treated.

Then one day it hit me. Allah has placed something in me that does not allow me to witness injustice, unfairness or inequality and remain silent. I don’t like to be treated unfairly or with disrespect and I don’t like to see it happen to other people. I instantly feel compelled to say or do something. I can’t sit still. Obviously not everyone has this quality or if they do they may not vocalize their disagreement. I can’t help myself. Does it get me in trouble? Sometimes. Do I make enemies because of it? Sure. But I don’t care because someone has to tell the emperor that he’s wearing no clothes. I’m not rude about it though. And I think I have a pretty good idea about timing and wording. I know you can’t just say things whenever or however you’d like to. I also know when to fight the battle and when to just let something ride.

It seems like in 2009 I have been setting boundaries. One of the boundaries I’ve set is other people can’t come and impose their feelings onto me. I am no longer willing to let someone else tell me that I shouldn’t have certain feelings about an incident I witnessed (or was involved in) or that their understanding of situation is the only one. I can accept someone’s advice and maybe even their assistance in terms of helping me view a situation differently. But when it comes to the invalidation of my feelings…well, I am not accepting it. I have a right to my feelings. I’m not an irrational or unreasonable person so I don’t think someone has the right to do that to me. But I digress, the activist spirit in me resists complacency in the face of injustice. Alhamdulillah for that.

5 responses to “Unfairness/Inequality/Injustice

  1. MashaAllah, while I was reading the first paragraph, I was thinking along those lines. 🙂 It is very important to speak out against injustice, especially as Muslims.

    O you who believe! Stand firmly for justice, as witnesses to God, even as against yourselves, or your parents, or your kin, and whether it be (against) rich or poor; for God can best protect both. Follow not the lust (of your hearts), lest ye swerve, and if ye distort (justice) or decline to do justice, verily God is well acquainted with all that ye do. [4:135]

    • Aynur, it just seems like people are so timid these days. And especially when the party committing the injustice is someone who is Muslim and holds a prominent position in the community. People would rather whisper about things than confront them. Or pretend they don’t exist…

  2. Sister Seeking,Miriam

    It seems like in 2009 I have been setting boundaries. One of the boundaries I’ve set is other people can’t come and impose their feelings onto me. I am no longer willing to let someone else tell me that I shouldn’t’t have certain feelings about an incident I witnessed (or was involved in) or that their understanding of situation is the only one. I can accept someone’s advice and maybe even their assistance in terms of helping me view a situation differently. But when it comes to the invalidation of my feelings…well, I am not accepting it. I have a right to my feelings. I’m not an irrational or unreasonable person so I don’t think someone has the right to do that to me. But I digress, the activist spirit in me resists complacency in the face of injustice. Alhamdulillah for that. Jamerican Muslimah
    _____________________________________________

    Ahhhhhhhhh…. Sr. Shahidah…

    May I be real with ***YOU*** for a minute?

    I’d like to say ***THANK YOU*** for taking a stand on so many of the issues that have negatively impacted Black American Muslims–specifically black women and girls UN-APOLOGETICALLY, CONSISTENTLY, AND INTELLIGENCTLY.

    Muslim women like you make me PROUD sister. People don’t realize how much courage, integrity, and discipline it takes to stand up by your self–even when confused, fearful, or damaged beyond repair BAM’s attack you.

    THANK YOU for not changing your commitment to justice because or your personal life circumstances. I’ve seen sisters with your fire blow it out when they marry or become Mothers.

    I’ve been married for 7 years, and haven’t forgotten about black women and girls who are constantly demoralized in our so called religious community.

    Speaking as a parent, just realize, that your work here and in IRL will POSIVITELY impact black women and girls who are Muslim for A LONG TIME. Don’t believe people who say otherwise.

    “May Allah s.w.t. grant you all your heart desires in this life, and the ahkirah. May Allah s.w.t. reward you for the inspiration, and joy you have been to ALL people.” Ameen

  3. As-Salaamu ‘alaikum,

    This business of people being indifferent to one’s perception of injustice really bothers me as well. I remember when I was at school and kept complaining that things were not fair or that people (including me) were being abused, and being told that this was just the way of the world or that it was the victim’s fault. It’s a very easy way of getting out of doing something about it.

  4. Speak your mind don’t supress your feelings especially when your disrespected.Just because your muslim does’nt give you a license to talk to me any way you want.It is a limit to the madness.

Leave a Reply

