Password Protecting “Imagine”

As salaam alaikum everyone,

I decided to password protect my blog entries entitled “Imagine.” I did this because I realized the post was not achieving its intended purpose. I hoped to have some discussion about community life and how it can go awry. I was also hoping to use a situation that happened to me as a learning tool; as a lesson. I was hoping sisters (and brothers) could see how individual and community bias against a practice that is halal (no matter how people feel about it) could cause a community to descend into chaos and also for individuals to behave in unseemly ways. Again, I thought there were lessons to be learned.

Instead, it seems that people were more interested in handing out indictments, judgments and projecting their personal experiences onto the situation. I started to feel like some people felt they knew my situation and life experience better than I did. There was a lot of minimization of my experience and personal pain. Few people asked questions and assumptions reigned supreme. I was also disheartened to realize that how people felt about polygyny was more important than standing for justice or even trying to understand what happened in this particular situation. AND I feel that we got way off topic…

A blog reader- Margari- asked me if this was the best venue to tell my story. I realize now that it is not. As a community of Muslims, I feel we have a lot of growing to do. May Allah protect and guide us all. Ameen.

4 responses to “Password Protecting “Imagine”

  1. actually muslim

    While I understand whole heartedly it is sad that Muslims find it difficult to remain objective when judging a matter as it stands. Maybe one day people will get over themselves so the community can reach its zenith.

  2. As Salaamu Alaikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatu:

    Ramadan Mubarak!

    I think you did the right thing. One’s blog should be a safe space, but unfortunately, sometimes it is not. If you protect some posts, you can accomplish the goal of getting your feelings out by writing about them, and you can also share them only with people who you know support you and you can trust.

  3. Asa I think you made a good decision and I am glad that Margari offered that suggestion. Sadly too many people feel empowered by other people’s pain. I am glad that you shared and that I was able to gain insight into your experiences.

  4. Salaam Alaikum,

    Ramadan Mubarak! It’s been too long since I’ve visited your blog, I guess because I ‘see’ you on facebook regularly.

    I would be very interested in viewing these posts, as I’m always keen to hear your thoughts and I find them very thought provoking. Of course, if you don’t want to give me the password, I understand and there’s no hard feelings.

    Hope you have a joyful yet peaceful Ramadan.

Leave a Reply

